Uncategorized

Memorial-izing Our Memories

These stories are from four years ago…but they still have the emotional punch now as they did back then.

Empty Nest, What's Next? Parenting Adult Children Without Losing Your Mind

This Memorial Day weekend will forever be seared into my heart and mind for a couple of reasons.

1) A young soldier (whom I recall having in my Sunday School class when he was in 3rd/4th grade) spoke about a recent ambush in Afghanistan. His platoon was attacked, he was wounded, and as he was the platoon leader, it was his job to get his men out of harms’ way before any of them were killed. And he did. Now he is on medical leave until his wounds have healed.

As I listened to him speak, I felt a mother’s pride well up in my heart. His mom died less than a year ago to cancer, so my guess is that a lot of women in the audience were feeling exactly what I was as we listened to his story.

I was so proud of him and so…

View original post 325 more words

Leave a Reply

