Uncategorized

Shaking off the Downcast and Troubled Frame of Mind

Grant me to rest on thy power and faithfulness, and to know that there are two things worth living for: to further thy cause in the world, and to do good to the souls and bodies of men; This is my ministry, my life, my prayer, my end. Grant me grace that I shall not fail. The Valley of Vision

Empty Nest, What's Next? Parenting Adult Children Without Losing Your Mind

downcast

Isn’t this true?

We fail and then our emotions nosedive into discouragement and despair.

I know mine do.

I’m particularly impatient and upset with myself when I struggle with the same issues as I did twenty years ago.

Ugh.

But I’ve learned something over the years. Despite how often I fail (and believe me it fluctuates between hourly and minute by minute)…I now realize that the absolute worst thing I can do is to stay stuck.

No matter how badly I feel about my failings…I make it my earnest attempt to get back up and take the next step.

Can I undo the damage I’ve inflicted? Not always.
Can I right every wrong? Nope.

So, I do what I can to make reparations and keep on going.

One little step at a time.

I love how Oswald Chambers describes this so common human emotion of despair and discouragement.

The sense…

View original post 201 more words

Leave a Reply

