Uncategorized

Singing Through the Disagreeable Duties of Life

Worry blackens every hour.

Empty Nest, What's Next? Parenting Adult Children Without Losing Your Mind

You have a disagreeable duty to do at twelve o’clock. Do not blacken nine and ten and eleven, and all between, with the color of twelve. George MacDonald

All week long I’ve been struggling to not allow a “disagreeable duty” blacken every day and hour right up to the one thing I’d been dreading.

At some points, I was able to put it aside, other moments I wasn’t and my thoughts were increasingly pre-occupied by the very thing I was dreading.

So what’s the big deal?
What kept distracting me from other more important duties?

A silly MRI.

I kept asking myself why I was dreading it so much. Unlike some people, the actual test doesn’t bother me. I don’t feel claustrophobic inside the tube and I don’t mind the loud banging noises it makes during the test.

What I did mind…was that this test was a…

View original post 323 more words

Leave a Reply

