Uncategorized

Outgrowing Our Spiritual Playpen

Growing up…is hard to do.

Empty Nest, What's Next? Parenting Adult Children Without Losing Your Mind

spiritualplaypen

Aside from the comedic implications of this photo depicting the typical grandma as the rescuer of her grandchildren…there’s some real truth to this statement.

Aren’t we all guilty of spending too much time in our own
“spiritual playpens?”

I know I am.

I demonstrate this fact every time I demand…

to have my own way
cling to my rights
refuse to listen
dig in my heels
turn away in anger
rehearse another’s wrongs
close my heart and mind to truth

If you’ve ever been a tad unwilling to leave your spiritual playpen in favor of growing up…read what Elisabeth Elliot has to say on the topic.

Love is the way to maturity. Selfishness stunts growth and keeps us in a spiritual playpen. The world is full of emotional babies, crawling over each other, screaming, “Mine! This I want, and this I shall have, and never mind what it does to…

View original post 85 more words

Leave a Reply

