Uncategorized

A New Review That Hits at the Heart of Empty Nest, What’s Next? (and warms my heart too)

emptynestcoverphoto

You never know how readers are going to react to a new book…it’s sort of like holding your breath, exhaling, and repeat. Over and over again. This morning I was delighted by this reader review. I hope you enjoy it too.

I’m so glad to be reading and thus gleaning all of the wisdom from Michele Howe’s Empty Nest, What’s Next? long BEFORE I have a nest that is empty. With a 3-year-old and a 13-year-old, I was doubtful that I’d really find any sage advice that I could apply right now.

Boy was I wrong!

First of all, I love how this book is organized. It reads way more like a devotional with it’s thoughtfully titled chapters each beginning with a focused scripture and a selective quote to accent the theme.

Then, Howe unpacks the subject usually by sharing (vulnerably!) a personal narrative along with an easy description of how to execute all she has learned.

Finally, each short chapter ends with a “Take-away Action Thought” (to re-focus the reader on the “big idea”) and a beautifully written prayer growing out of that particular chapter’s topic.

A highlight to exemplify how this title will be helpful to parents at every stage is Howe’s prayerful mantra: “Make up the difference.” She says, “If I’d whispered that phrase once to the Lord, I’d repeated it over one thousand times as I parented my children while they were still under our roof. Now, with three gone and one on her way out, I’m still saying it—maybe even more now than then.”

And just like that, we have a new prayer to pray on our parenting journey — both now (while our kids are still at home) and later (when we’re still their parents as adults).

There is a LOT of helpful, practical wisdom in this book. Highly recommend… for parents with kids at home, for parents nearing the empty nest phase, and for parents already living in a next that is empty.

Leave a Reply

