Uncategorized

The Last Laugh — Remembering How Good It Feels

Empty Nest, What's Next? Parenting Adult Children Without Losing Your Mind

Last week I watched a movie where the main character suddenly started laughing…uproariouly…joyfully…that deep from her insides kind of laugh.

Once she stopped, she commented that she couldn’t remember the last time she’d laughed. Really laughed.

I sat there thinking about the last time I’d laughed that hard.

Thinking.
Thinking.
Thinking.

Nothing came immediately to mind. And that thought is enough to make anyone cry.

So I started looking through old photos trying to recall some experiences that had me doubled over in laughter. I found one.

It’s not too recent (but it still makes me smile…so it still counts.)

About a year and a half ago, I traveled up North for a friend’s daughter’s wedding and while there my kids and I trekked up and down the sand dunes each day. On the first afternoon, that first hill about killed me (not because it was…

View original post 251 more words

Leave a Reply

