Uncategorized

No Shortcutting Grief

Two years ago, I wrote this post after one of the first of now many school shootings. Today, I’m revisiting this theme on grief after attending a recent funeral that was so unexpected and following up on a long season of personal grief for our daughter and her family. Grief…none of us can avoid it…and we cannot short-cut it either.

Empty Nest, What's Next? Parenting Adult Children Without Losing Your Mind

snowwalkLike everyone else in our country, I’ve felt heaviness of grief and loss and stunning heartache over the senseless killings of these children and adults.

Like most people I know, I’ve been watching the television accounts of what happened and I’ve been reading the online articles hoping for a reason? an explanation? something? anything? to help me understand how a person could walk into an elementary school and just start shooting.

The news didn’t give me any answers.
The online journalists’ timeline accounts didn’t either.

I still felt sick inside.
Heavy-hearted.
Distracted.

And to be honest…I just wanted to forget about it.

There was already enough evil in the world before this happened. And now?

I can see why people give up.
I can see why people all over the world blame God in general and guns in particular.

But I also know that we’re right at the start in…

View original post 188 more words

Leave a Reply

