Articles

Standing on the Shore Getting My Daily Therapy Session

There’s something truly therapeutic about standing on a sandy beach while the waves rush in and out, in and out. Mesmerizing.

I can stand (or sit) for long periods of time simply gazing out at the lake.

For some reason, the sheer size of Lake Erie and its limitlessness calms me.

Maybe it’s because I can’t see to the other side even though I know it’s out there somewhere.

Perhaps it’s the regularity of the in and out motion of the tide.

It might even be the smell of the water and the sound of the waves crashing in.

In all honesty, I don’t think understanding why being close to a large body of water is so very soothing to my soul matters. I only know that something deep within me draws me there with regularity.

But don’t take my word for it.

Get to know the nearest lake (or ocean) along with its healing properties for yourself.

It’s the cheapest therapy around town.

2 thoughts on “Standing on the Shore Getting My Daily Therapy Session

  1. Michele, I fully understand what you mean. From the beginning of our marriage (35 years ago) we’ve packed up and deserted the desert for a bit of respite at the beach in San Diego every summer. Phoenix temps can reach the 120s and a cool ocean breeze provides refreshment. But there’s more… I never love the ice-cold, salty water on my skin. I’m not even a big fan of sand between my toes (or in other areas). Yet sitting on my patio watching the rolling waves crash on shore is something I never tire of. There is a dichotomy here. The peace of a calm sea on one day but the power of it when it rages. The silky surface hiding any number of mysterious creatures and landscapes at depth. When I look at the ocean ( or any body of water) I see God’s most visual representation of Himself in nature. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

