Articles

Stepping Into An Unknown Future with a Known God

Brenda'sYorkie

This past weekend I was sitting in two separate ceremonies watching my son graduate from college. And yep, I was that mom holding back tears of…

happiness
pride
thankfulness

and dare I admit…some measure of trepidation.

For four years I had mentally placed my son, and my youngest child, in a safe and compartmentalized box of sorts. Now, he’s graduated and his future is up for grabs. He may or may not land a job in our city…I know he wants to move away.

As in far, far away.

Sigh.

As happy as I am for my son, I also admit to feeling like I’m shedding off another layer of my parenting identity. And like this darling little Yorkie discovered, sometimes you just have to sit still until the process is complete.

So, as I was reflecting upon my own emotional ups/downs this past couple of weeks…I came across this insightful essay by David Jeremiah. It sort of makes me laugh…sort of makes me want to sigh (and cry.)

Most of all, it helps me settle my inner-self down and prepare for another young life to take on the world.

I hope you find it as helpful as I have of late.

An unknown author once described his journey of giving God control of his life as a tandem bike ride with Christ in the front. He said, “When I had control, I knew the way. It was rather boring, but predictable. But when He took the lead, He knew delightful long trails up mountains, and through rocky places at breakneck speeds; it was all I could do to hang on!! Even though it looked like madness, He said, “Pedal!” I was worried and anxious and asked, ‘Where are You taking me?’ He laughed and didn’t answer, and I started to learn to trust. And I’m beginning to enjoy the cool breeze on my face with my delightful constant companion Christ. And when I’m sure I just can’t do anymore, He just smiles and says…’Pedal.'”

Though we may fear and doubt where God is taking us, when we give Him control, our life will never be the same. We’ll begin to find adventure in the midst of adversity, and peace during times of pain. All we have to do is let Him steer our life while we simply pedal.

Give your life to God; he can do more with it than you can! Dwight L. Moody

I tend to think this might be a summer of pedaling…how about you?

7 thoughts on “Stepping Into An Unknown Future with a Known God

  1. Like you I’m going to be pedaling a lot this summer. We moved to FL to be close to my 3 grandsons. My daughter is in the Air Force. I lived in her house for a year taking care of the boys while she was deployed to Afghanistan. When she got back it was so much fun being around all of them. Every Friday night the youngest grandson, then 4, would come and spend the night with us. Then they got orders for the Azores Islands, an island off the coast of Portugal.

    For 2 years I’ve waited for them to return to FL. Now the Air Force is NOT sending them back here and my daughter and son in-law are being separated and sent to 2 different states. I’m bummed! So your post today was just what I needed to read. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

