Uncategorized

The Fine Art of Saying No (so we can still be friends)

When saying “no” is really saying a “yes” to a great friendship!

Empty Nest, What's Next? Parenting Adult Children Without Losing Your Mind

Unlike many women I know, I’ve never much struggled with saying, “No,” to a request that came my way which either 1) took time away from the people I’m most responsible for; this includes family/friends/colleagues, or 2) would drain my time/energy/resources away from the tasks/goals I had already prioritized.

I realize this sounds hard-hearted and clinical.

It’s not.

In fact, taking this hardline approach when asked to fill a position/volunteer/take over a project/assume the role someone else dropped…helps me to bring more heart and passion to my primary responsibilities.

Since we’re all given 24 hours in a day, it isn’t a difficult chore to estimate how much free time we have after our basic responsibilities have been fulfilled.

Work
Eat
Sleep
Exercise
Home maintenance
Relationships

Which leaves a pretty narrow margin for:

leisure
volunteering
hobbies
after work/extra work tasks

You get the picture.

It’s easier to politely say, “No,” when…

View original post 314 more words

Leave a Reply

