Articles

How Our Thoughts Control Our Life

bubbles

If you’re anything like me, you’re awfully grateful that your private thoughts don’t magically appear above your head in those cartoonish bubble-like pictures.

Awfully glad.

If people knew the crazy thoughts that sometimes run through my brain…they’d run away. Fast.

If people knew the strange way my mind puts facts together (or dissembles them) they’d run way. Fast.

Thoughts can be scary things…with lives of their own.

At least mine can be.

Which is why…I love, love, love this verse found in the book of Romans and from which I quote to myself (silently and out loud)…whenever I allow my thoughts to get away from me and I start thinking….

fearfully
angrily
resentfully
unkindly
anxiously
down-heartedly
negatively
defeated-ly

Add in any “ly” you can imagine and my thoughts have gone there…

But when they do…I have the perfect response to get my thoughts back on track (and when my thoughts are tracking biblically, my life follows.)

Here it is —

The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Holy Spirit is life and peace. Romans 8:6

Don’t you just love the sound of this truth…our minds can be controlled (guided by life and peace) when they are controlled (guided) by the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

