Articles

Sitting Down to Work (and other unlikely health risks)

choppingwood

If you’re like me, you appreciate all the advances in technology that can make your work (and life) easier.

I remember way back when I spent a boatload of money on large envelopes, white stock paper, paper clips, and postage just to send out queries and samples of my work.

Am I ever grateful those days are over…days when watching for the mail lady to drive up in her truck and I would drop whatever I was doing to pick through our mail hoping against hope I’d heard something from any number of editors I’d pitched a story to or to whom I’d sent some writing samples.

Now, everything is click, click, click.

Which I can heartily say my budget (and my patience) are so glad about.

However (and isn’t there always a however?)…it seems the rest of me (meaning my physical me) isn’t benefiting from technology in general as is my mental me.

We’ve all heard about the hazards of not exercising, but this new research that shows how risky it is to sit at a desk most of the day isn’t news to everyone yet.

But it should be.

Check out this informative article on why we all need to get up from our sitting position more often throughout the day to offset the health risks of sitting down (as opposed to standing up and moving around)causes.

Get Up and Get Moving

I love the visual of this article…serves to give me notice and a great reminder of what’s happening on my insides when I don’t take regular breaks to refresh and restart the physical me.

3 thoughts on “Sitting Down to Work (and other unlikely health risks)

  1. Michele, this is a fantastic reminder. I struggle with leaving my desk. I struggle with getting to the gym. I worry about my health and mobility in the future but don’t seem to be able to take the leap of making it the priority it was in the past and should be (even more) in the future. The future starts NOW. Wish you lived closer so I’d have a workout buddy/accountability partner! Thanks for the kick in the rear. 🙂

Leave a Reply

