Articles

When a Little Perspective Changes Everything

heisstillgood

I woke up hurting (again)…and feeling sorry for myself that I can predict the weather before I even open my eyes.

Within an hour, I was reading this excerpt from Randy Alcorn’s fine text, 90 Days of God’s Goodness: That Shine Light on Personal Darkness…disappointment, despair, discouragement, defeat…and every other dismal adjective beginning with the letter “D.”

When I first started reading…my thought was…poor me.

As I continued to read…reflect…and pause long enough to consider…my poor me changed to something far better.

Thank you, Lord…for giving me a better perspective on pain and suffering and bodily limitations.

I hope reading this little excerpt will encourage your heart too.

You may not feel satisfied with your current body or mind, but your resurrection upgrade will never disappoint you.

Paraplegic, Joni Eareckson Tada tells an audience of mentally handicapped Christians…that one day she will get a new body…and you’re going to get new minds. The class erupted in cheers and applause. They knew what they most looked forward to!

Many disabled believers have heard others say about the resurrection, “You must look forward to walking and running.” True enough, but one handicapped Christian made a particularly revealing comment: “What I look forward to most is kneeling.”

Wow.

Perspective.

After reading that, I know I need to upgrade mine.

One thought on “When a Little Perspective Changes Everything

Leave a Reply

