Articles

RX for Hijacked Thoughts

pray

Yesterday I was working in the kitchen processing two big buckets of apples and pears (for the third day in a row) and thinking about —

1) How wonderful the kitchen smelled as the fruits simmered with some cinnamon thrown in for good measure
2) How glad I was that we have both apple and pear trees from which to get such healthy food…for free
3) How much I would appreciate this fruit come December or January when the snow is flying and these tastes are but a memory
4) How afraid I was that I wouldn’t have enough time, energy, money for what’s coming in the next couple of months

WAIT!

If that sudden change of direction in my thoughts took you by surprise…imagine me. I’m sitting (standing) there minding my own business, busily working away, right smack dab in the middle of my happy moment…when suddenly I’m worrying about my responsibilities, my schedule, and my finances.

Go figure!

And I will tell you that even after I realized that my thoughts had just been hijacked…it sort of ruined my day. I kept circling back to my “lack” all afternoon and well into the evening.

Even at bedtime, I laid there ruminating and stewing and fretting…

So, how thankful was I to get up this morning and open this devotional and read these comforting (and true) words by David Jeremiah.

I hope they’ll encourage you when your thoughts get hijacked like mine do.

Are you worried about a need in your life right now? Perhaps you’ve forgotten how often God promises to meet all our needs as we trust Him.

Your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things – Matthew 6:32.

I have been young, and now am old; yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken nor his descendants begging bread – Psalm 37:25.

God has dealt graciously with me…I have enough – Genesis 33:11.

My God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus – Philippians 4:19.

Oh, fear the Lord, you His saints! There is no want to those who fear Him…Those who seek the Lord shall not lack any good thing – Psalm 34:9-10.

Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you – Matthew 6:33.

Your heavenly Father is the great provider, and in Christ we have all His promises and all our provision. Today, don’t worry. Trust.

We need to remember that our extremity is always the Lord’s opportunity. H. Edwin Young

One thought on “RX for Hijacked Thoughts

Leave a Reply

