Articles

Sin and Temptation (it’s part of life)

liveinsuchaway

Way back when in 1999, a dear friend gave me a devotional I believe I’ve continued to read almost every single day. It’s one of the best out there…and most folks have either heard of it or own a copy themselves.

My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers….written way back when…when folks still called “sin” sin and understood what “sin” was and how every single person does indeed “sin.”

This morning I opened up the text and what should appear before my eyes but this, “No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man…” 1 Corinthians 10:13.

Common to man (woman)….so pretty much temptation is just that, “common” to us all.

If you’re like me, you feel bad when tempted to do, think, behave, act out, or imagine doing something, well, “sinful.”

I know I do.

And as I read further….this “feeling bad” is a very good thing.

Read what Chambers has to say about sin and temptation.

The word temptation has come to mean something bad to us today, but we tend to use the word in the wrong way. Temptation itself is not sin; it is something we are bound to face simply by virtue of being human. Not to be tempted would mean that we were already so shameful that we would be beneath contempt.

Temptation comes to me, suggesting a possible shortcut to the realization of my highest goal – it does not direct me toward what I understand to be evil, but toward what I understand to be good. Temptation is something that confuses me for a while, and I don’t know whether something is right or wrong.

Temptation is not something we can escape; in fact, it is essential to the well-rounded life of a person. Beware of thinking that you are tempted as no one else – what you go through is the common inheritance of the human race, not something that no one has ever before endured. God does not save us from temptation – He sustains us in the midst of them.

So what say you?

Sin and temptation take on a completely different look when you view it the way Chambers describes as “essential to the well-rounded life of a person” doesn’t it?

And…don’t you just love the accompanying photo?

I do, as it reminds me to exercise my self-control by run, run, running from temptation in all its shapes and forms.

One thought on “Sin and Temptation (it’s part of life)

Leave a Reply

