Articles

Sleep Will Come (Or Not)

sleep

I was chuckling to myself when I spotted this photo on Pinterest…and every time I look at it…I smile again and again.

It makes me laugh.
I think it’s funny because for someone my age…sleep doesn’t always come.
A midlife tried and true fact of life.

In fact, I’d say I have more sleepLESS nights than those rare sleeping bell to bell types of nights I enjoyed when I was younger.

Still, apart from the hormonal influence…I’d say I sleep pretty well. Unless of course, I’m worrying about something. Or angry at someone. Or afraid of something.

Or…..and the list goes on.

Which is why when I’m really honest with myself…the way I think makes a bigger impact on how I sleep than I want to give it credit for.

Read what David Jeremiah wrote on sleep —

Research shows that newborn babies have no fear of the dark. After all, they’ve just spent nine months in the darkness of the womb. We put nightlights in the nursery so we can see them, not so they’ll be unafraid. But a strange thing happens as we start growing. Many children develop night fears, imagining creatures outside their windows or monsters under their beds. As we age, those nighttime fears become more sophisticated. Many of us struggle every night with letting go of our worries so we can sleep.

Listen to what the psalmist wrote: The day is Yours, the night also is Yours…He who keeps (you) shall neither slumber nor sleep…I will both lie down in peace, and sleep, for You alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety…You will light my lamp; The LORD my God will enlighten my darkness…I meditate on You in the night watches…he gives His beloved sleep.

As Spurgeon said: “They slumber sweetly whom faith rocks to sleep. No pillow so soft as a promise.”

And…on a final note…

If the Lord’s going to stay awake all night, I’m going to sleep! There’s no use in us both staying up! Anonymous

Leave a Reply

