Articles

Handling Instructions for Stains of All Sorts

laundry

If you’ve purchased any new clothing lately (and have bothered to look at the care tags hidden in the deepest recesses of the garment) you can’t help but have noticed that all these odd little symbols have replaced the worded care instructions.

Okay, I may not be the smartest bulb in the pack…but until these symbols made their appearance I never had a problem laundering my clothes properly. Now…it’s a different story.

Today, when I go shopping I locate the little hidden care tag first to try and figure out if I want to “hand wash” the item or not…but before I get that far I have to decipher it. No easy matter.

I’m wondering who came up with these symbols anyway? And why did they (the manufacturers) decide that words should be replaced by these confusing little arcs and spheres?

Honestly, there have been times when I’m holding a particular garment in my hands and I wonder if it will come out of the wash even resembling the same piece of clothing.

These new symbolic handling instructions are just plain too hard to understand…so I often throw in the towel (so to speak) and pray I’m getting it right.

Which leads me to how I handle the dirty, messy, stained issues of life as it pertains to relationships.

Do I care enough about the people in my life to offer them —

the gentle cycle when needed?
the patient stain-removal application?
the more time-consuming hand wash only?
the costly dry-cleaning process?
the careful line dry finishing?

There are so many comparable laundry instructions that parallel real life relational ones.

Note the specific step-by-step wording for optimal results (in product and people handling):

gentle cycle
stain removal
hand wash
dry clean
line dry

Each phrase is specifically tailored for a specific (and optimal) end result.

The more I take care of even the dirtiest stains, the happier I am with the results.

To put it plainly, there are no shortcuts to cleaning up dirty laundry or messy relational encounters. You just identify what’s needs doing to clean up both and do your best (hoping all will come out in the wash.)

Most of the times…it does.

3 thoughts on “Handling Instructions for Stains of All Sorts

  1. Hahaha, this is perfect timing, Michele! I had to buy labels for a seamstress to insert in a new project of mine. I had to look high and low to find labels with words instead of little pictures that have no meaning to me! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

