People — The Vehicle God Often Uses to Get Us Where We Want to Go

cheeseplate

I smiled when I looked at this photo of how-to prepare a winning cheese spread. I really smiled when I noted the author’s little arrows pointing to various elements of this yummy looking appetizer. But the term, “vehicle” cracked me up. I never considered a cheese board a vehicle before…but in truth, it is just that. An object that moves that delicious food nearer to me. 😉

When we hear the word vehicle we think of something that moves something (or someone) from one spot to another.

Our automobiles are our primary vehicles for getting us where we want to go.
Our two feet can also be the vehicles that move us from one spot to another.

Planes.
Trains.
Automobiles.

All of these move us forward, backward, or around and around in circles.

But there’s an even more powerful vehicle at work in our lives every single day. One that God uses to help direct the path our lives take.

Consider this verse:

The king’s heart is in the hand of the Lord; he directs it like a watercourse wherever he pleases. Proverbs 21:1

As I was studying Trusting God this week, I took particular note of how this specific verse plays out in the lives of people (and how God works in people’s hearts and minds in ways that influence and affect us).

Jerry Bridges applies this passage in this way —

How shall we respond to the fact that God is able to and does in fact move in the minds and hearts of people to accomplish His will? Our first response should be one of trust. Our careers and destinies are in His hands not the hands of bosses, commanding officers, professors, coaches, and all other people who, humanly speaking, are in a position to affect our futures. No one can harm you or jeopardize your future apart from the sovereign will of God. Moreover, God is able to and will grant you favor in the eyes of people who are in a position to do you good. You should then look to God in prayer in all those situations where some aspect of our future lies in the hands of another individual. As Alexander Carson said, “If we need the protection of men, let us first ask it from God.”

This verse (and Bridges’ explanation) comfort me in a big way. Knowing that God can and does work on my behalf via influencing others in positions of authority over me for my good…is a very good thing because God (unlike people) always seeks the very best for me (and you.)

One comment

Leave a comment