Articles

Trusting God: Even When (Especially When) Life Hurts

cslewis

As I prepare to lead a discussion group through the book, Trusting God: Even When Life Hurts, I’m struck by the Jerry Bridge’s insights on how we filter suffering through our mind and often blame God for it (and point our finger at Him for allowing it).

Our greatest need is not freedom from adversity. All the possible calamities that could occur in this life cannot in any way be compared with the absolute calamity of eternal separation from God. Jesus said no earthly joy could compare with the eternal joy of our names written in Heaven (Luke 10:20). In like manner, no earthly adversity can compare with that awful calamity of God’s eternal judgment in hell.

Despite whatever suffering we are currently enduring…raising angry fists at God because He is allowing it or because we question His love for us doesn’t make sense because…

If we want proof of God’s love for us, then we must look first at the Cross where God offered up His Son as a sacrifice for our sins. Calvary is the one objective, absolute, irrefutable proof of God’s love for us.

Any time we are tempted to doubt God’s love for us, we should go back to the Cross. We should reason somewhat in this fashion: If God loved me enough to give His Son to die for me when I was His enemy, surely He loves me enough to care for me now that I am His child. Having loved me to the ultimate extent at the Cross, He cannot possibly fail to love me in my times of adversity. Having given such a priceless gift as His Son, surely He will also give all else that is consistent with His glory and my good.

3 thoughts on “Trusting God: Even When (Especially When) Life Hurts

  1. This sounds like what Pastor Ryan shared a few weeks ago when he spoke for 2 weeks. It is so true- our God doesn’t need to do one more thing to prove His love for us- He already gave His ALL on the cross because He loves us sooo much!! Thanks for sharing Shelly! I’m looking forward to your group.

  2. Hi Michele,
    Great post! I love that quote from CS Lewis in your picture. May we all remember to trust God and His promises even when we may not understand why we are enduring pain!

Leave a Reply

