Articles

Directly To The Point

easywordsDon’t you just love it when you don’t have to create a dance of words to be understood by someone?

I sure do.

The truth is, communicating well and effectively takes a lot of effort…and a lot of forgiveness.

Lots and lots and lots.

This week I was reminded of how easy it is to misconstrue what someone says and wrongly assume I understand where they are coming from (or going.)

Before you know it, feelings are all out of whack and the tension is running thick.

Which got me thinking about why we allow so much emotional turmoil to control us when we are in the place of feeling hurt and misunderstood or in the place doing the misunderstanding.

I think it’s because we don’t want to be let down by someone we care about. We put too much in the way of expectation on a relationship, a person, a position, a product, a promise, a whatever…and when we are confronted with the failings of these “whatevers” we take it too much to heart.

I really love this translation of Hebrews 13:5 by Kenneth Wuest which reads “Never, will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

In the original Greek this translation is full of emphatic negatives. “I will not, I will not cease to sustain and uphold you. I will not, I will not, I will not let you down.”

Now, that’s a form of direct communication I can sink my hopes and expectations into without fear of failure or regret.

One thought on “Directly To The Point

Leave a Reply

