Articles

Get Out There – Where the Magic Happens

wherethemagichappensLast week I entered a television studio for the first time in a long time.

Even though I know (and love) the show’s host, I felt some level of angst. At this point in my life, I’m real comfortable with radio interviews and honestly enjoy them. I like the live interchange between the host(s) and myself. There’s an energy there that I find well, energizing.

Not so with television. I’m out of my comfort zone on many levels.

Still, when a media personage invites you to be on their show, saying no isn’t an option.

So I went.

Am I ever glad I did.

I had so much fun.

Was the interview perfect? I’m confident it wasn’t.
Did I flawlessly present myself and my book? I’m sure I didn’t.
Will viewers watch and say to themselves, she’s not a professional? Probably.

Guess what? I don’t care.

For me, the whole challenge of that particular morning was walking through those studio doors and doing the interview.

Isn’t that like a lot of life?

We’re asked to do something we’re not comfortable with and once we do it we’re so very glad we risked whatever we were afraid of and went for it anyway?

So much of life is out of our comfort zones.
It just is.

So why not determine to get comfortable with being uncomfortable and just engage in life, with people, serving with our gifts/talents, and do it anyway?

I’m convinced we’ll have nothing to lose but regrets.

3 thoughts on “Get Out There – Where the Magic Happens

  1. Our comfort zone is where Satan wants us to stay, that’s why it’s so comfortable. God urges us to do things outside our comfort zone and, as you discovered, richly blesses us when we follow His lead. Great post, Michele.

Leave a Reply

