Articles

Stand by Me in Those 10,000 Little Moments

typewriterkeysLast year I picked a word to focus on throughout 2015.

That word was peace.

And boy, did I ever crave it.

There were moments when I felt it and lots of other moments when I didn’t.

Still, it stuck with me throughout 2015.

On the eve of 2016, I haven’t yet decided what will be my “word” for the upcoming year…but I am leaning toward trust.

Trust can encompass a lot of different areas of life.

But two stick out to me the most.

I have to decide day after day to trust God. Period. End of story.

Second, I have to trust that the 10,000 little choices I make will, over time, make me.

And, I’m fully aware that I need to rally my friends to stand by me, stand with me, and stand up for me, every single day.

Here are some insightful words on making the important (little choices) every day matter so that our lives count.

Paul Tripp writes-

You see, the character of a life is not set in two or three dramatic moments, but in 10,000 little moments. The character that was formed in those little moments is what shapes how you respond to the big moments of life.

What leads to significant personal change?

10,000 moments of personal insight and conviction
10,000 moments of humble submission
10,000 moments of foolishness exposed and wisdom gained
10,000 moments of courageous faith
10,000 choice points of obedience
10,000 moments where we abandon worship of the creation and give ourselves to worship of the Creator.

Slow learner that I am…I am grateful for these 10,000 moments for do-overs, start-agains, second chances, and lots and lots of stand-by-me opportunities.

One thought on “Stand by Me in Those 10,000 Little Moments

Leave a Reply

