Articles

What Our Eyes Cannot See, We Take by Faith

I have a friend who I generally pass by on FB of all places. As I post a story or a link to a newsy or informative article, I’ll see her by way of a “like” or a comment or both. It always makes me smile. This is her stethoscope by the way. 🙂

Then I get to wondering about the wonders of technology and how not too many years ago all this posting and tweeting and talking via the internet only existed in some person’s imagination. And then they made it a reality.

I think this is an important concept.

First, we visualize in our minds a specific outcome, product, idea, procedure. Then, we get busy on making “it” a reality.

And isn’t it true that we all close our eyes and visualize something we can’t yet see with our physical eyes?

I do it all the time.

I have an idea for an article or a book and I scrunch up my eyes and concentrate (visualizing it as I go) and often I open my eyes having worked out part of the problem.

The same goes with cooking a new recipe.
Decorating a room.
Traveling to an unknown destination.

Repairing a strained relationship.

Yep, especially here. I mentally think how the conversation might go. How it will likely go. How it could go. Then I give it a go in real life taking by faith that the risk I take to restore a relationship will be worth it.

Of all the risks we take in life, making the hard effort to live at peace with others is perhaps one of the hardest of all.

Let’s face it. Relationships are a messy business. As Paul Tripp is fond of saying (and I’m fond of quoting,) “Relationships are a mess worth making!” They are.

So whether our relationships are in the rare happy contented stage or in the more common uncomfortable strained growing season, let’s not give up on each other. We might not have the right words, we might not have all the solutions, but we can take by faith what our eyes cannot presently see and work toward a better, more loving reality.

And remember, sometimes we just don’t have the words to express what we’re feeling. I have a theory that a silent hug can go a long way in those tricky moments of running toward someone or away from them.

So even when we’re left stumped on what to say or how to respond, we can use our two arms to communicate what we are wordless to express.

Words. Expressions. Hugs.

Make liberal use of them every day. And take it by faith if you have to at first, but still do it.

Remembering that…

A hug is handshake from the heart. Anonymous

One thought on “What Our Eyes Cannot See, We Take by Faith

Leave a Reply

