Articles

Grace Happens Here – There and Everywhere

Wonder of wonders I ended up with not one book on the subject of grace but two this month. Even more wondrous, both titles were written by America’s master storyteller, Max Lucado.

What grace.

Two books on grace.
Two books by Lucado.
Grace upon grace.

So instead of trying to decide amongst my list of topics I want to write on today, I decided to share a little Lucado with you.

Here’s an excerpt from Lucado’s newest, Grace Happens Here.

Grace.
Let it so seep into the crusty cracks of your life that everything softens. Then let it bubble to the surface, like a spring in the Sahara, in words of kindness and deeds of generosity.

Such Kindness

“We will celebrate forty-four years tomorrow,” Jack said, feeding his wife.

She was bald. Her eyes were sunken, and her speech was slurred. She looked straight ahead, only opening her mouth when he brought the fork near. He wiped her cheek. He wiped his brow.

“She has been sick for five years,” he told me. “She can’t walk. She can’t take care of herself. She can’t even feed herself, but I love her. And,” he spoke louder so she could hear, “we are going to beat this thing, aren’t we, Honey?”

He fed her a few bites and spoke again, “We don’t have insurance. When I could afford it, I thought I wouldn’t need it. Now I owe this hospital more than $50.000.” He was quiet for a few moments as he gave her a drink. Then he continued, “But they don’t pester me. They know I can’t pay, but they admitted us with no questions asked. The doctors treat us like we are their best-paying patients. Who would’ve imagined such kindness?”

I had to agree with him. Who would’ve imagined such kindness? In a thorny world of high-tech, expensive, often criticized health care, it is reassuring to find professionals who would serve two who had nothing to give in return.”

Give grace, one more time.
Be generous, one more time
.

One thought on “Grace Happens Here – There and Everywhere

Leave a Reply

