Articles

When the Galley Goes Out – Authors Say Their Thanks

It’s getting to be that time again…that precious brief season in an author’s life in between writing and publication.

Since it doesn’t happen all too often in a writer’s life (this is only my twelfth time in over twenty years of freelancing) I like to relish it, savor it, and be thankful for it.

Yesterday, the galleys went out to all the fine folks who very generously said “yes” when I asked if they would read/endorse my new book.

As I hit the “send” key, I offered up a heartfelt prayer of thanks for each of these terrific individuals who every single one has more important tasks to perform than taking time to read my book and offer a few words of support. Because I know how much time it takes to read/review, I value their sacrifices all the more and would happily move heaven and earth to help them out when they need it.

It’s never an easy thing asking for help…but I remind myself that when we do, an exchange takes place that builds the relationship into something more than it was before.

For me, that’s what it’s all about anyway.

Writing.
Relationships
.

Making them both stronger.

Leave a Reply

