Articles

White Noise (Silence) Makes Everything Sound Better

My very thoughtful children bought me what might be the best birthday gift I’ve ever received.

While we were vacationing a few weeks’ back, my birthday fell on the first day of this relaxing week and was I ever excited about unwrapping this particular present.

As sleep is one of my all time favorite parts of life…and my sleep has been, let us say, “compromised” these recent months…my intuitive daughter asked me well ahead of time if I would like one of these nifty little machines (which are small enough to tuck into a carry-on piece of luggage.)

I answered with a resounding, “Yes!”

Love it.

I can’t tell you how many sleepless nights I’ve spent while traveling over the years all because I’m a light sleeper and every little noise wakes me up.

The familiar and the unfamiliar…doesn’t make much difference…I hear all those things that go bump in the night.

Now…I’m sleeping much better, deeper, and longer. Happiness.

All because of this handy little device that creates some white noise to block out the unwanted sounds in the night, I’m now able to face my days with a lot more energy and enthusiasm.

I’m sleeping better at night, true. But I’m still working on meshing more silence into my day time hours.

When I tune out the constant static of continual talk/music/radio/tv, I can actually think clearer and breathe deeper.

Silence is as necessary to living well as is eating an all organic diet and exercising five days a week.

What I’m aiming for, and it’s going against the grain of my personality, is to make regular spaces of quiet and organize them into each day. The more regularly I do this one simple thing, the more quickly I find my balance again no matter how upsetting the nightly news is…no matter how poor our economy is doing…no matter how rotten a day I’m having.

I like that old saying…”Silence is golden.” But I’d like to amend it…

Silence is not only golden…it’s worth its weight in gold.

And I want my life weighty with the rich benefits of it.

4 thoughts on “White Noise (Silence) Makes Everything Sound Better

  1. Great post, Michelle! Makes me want to take a nap. Whoops, I just took one. Actually, I try to grab 30 minutes every day. Love, love love sleep. As an alcoholic who once drank to find oblivion, i now have this deep appreciation for how God gives us a natural gift of that every night–sleep, beautiful sleep. I used to take it for granted that I got to rest and leave the world every day for a while, that God made nights and knew we couldn’t take this life without breaks. Now, I sometimes climb into bed with my book sober and know I’m headed for peace and relief and I am overcome by gratitude. Thanks for this reminder that peace–even if its not sleep–quiet, that is, can be found even during the day. Hugs, Heather

    1. You are a woman after my own heart, Heather! I too, love, love, love sleep, and try to work in a twenty minute nap any day I can…I like your thought about needing nighttime rest in order to “take” this life…so true. Work and rest is part of the natural order…but we fight it tooth and nail every time.

  2. Great article, Shelly!! Being quiet is something I really need to work on!! Thanks for the encouragement!!

    1. Thanks Pat! Yes…working on being quiet/still/silent…harder than it appears at first glance…but so good for us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

