Articles

The Long and Winding Road to Selecting Your Career of a Lifetime

Here I am, day two of being completely immersed in the same book I quoted from yesterday.

In between yesterday morning’s post and today’s…I think I earned a little time to escape into this fantastic book.

I spent almost an hour talking with the editor of my new book…both of us reading her suggestions and comments online as we chatted…note to self…this was by far the easiest and most efficient way to get on the same page as your editor/publisher during the first editorial pass. And though I had inadvertently handed her a formatting nightmare…she graciously forgave me and I think we’re friends now. 🙂

Many hours later, we both exchanged updated versions of this book, and it suddenly became “real” to me again. I’m getting to do what I always wanted to…write and publish books. My vocational heart is singing today and running over with happiness, gratitude, and complete contentment.

That’s today anyway…tomorrow, who knows?

Which is why when I stayed up late reading a few more chapters of Bittersweet and I got to a chapter where Niequist gives career advice to twenty-somethings…I was shaking my head in agreement as I turned each page.

For anyone who’s lamenting the frustration of not being able to find the perfect career…please take to heart Niequist’s take on careers and the choosing of them.

When I was twenty-five, I was in my third job in as many years – all in the same area at a church, but the responsibilities were different each time. I was frustrated at the end of the third year, because I didn’t know exactly what I wanted to do next. I didn’t feel like I’d found my place yet. I met with my boss, who was in his fifties. I told him how anxious I was about finding the one perfect job for me, and quick. He asked me how old I was, and when I told him I was twenty-five, he told me that I couldn’t complain to him about finding the right job until I was thirty-two. In his opinion, it takes about ten years after college to find the right fit, and anyone who finds it earlier than that is just plain lucky.

So Niequist suggests —

Move, travel, take a class, take a risk. Walk away, try something new. There is a season for wildness and a season for settledness, and this is neither. This season is about becoming. Don’t lose yourself at happy hour, but don’t lose yourself on the corporate ladder either.

Ask yourself some good questions like, Am I proud of the life I’m living? What have I tried this month? What have I learned about God this year? What parts of my childhood faith am I leaving behind, and what parts am I choosing to keep with me for this leg of the journey? Do the people I’m spending my time with give me life, or make me feel small? Is there any brokenness in my life that’s keeping me from moving forward?

Now is your time. Become, believe, try. Don’t get stuck in the past, and don’t try to fast-forward yourself into a future you haven’t yet earned. Give today all the love and intensity and courage you can, and keep traveling honestly along life’s path.

Can you see why I love this book?

One thought on “The Long and Winding Road to Selecting Your Career of a Lifetime

Leave a Reply

