Articles

Everyone wins when courage fills a woman’s soul

When it comes to helping others, some people stop at nothing. Unknown

Not every book photo accurately depicts what’s to be found inside the cover of the text. In this case, it does.

If you’re peering closely at this photo, let me explain.

This black and white cover photo reveals a woman holding tightly to stalks of wheat. Her fist grasping the grain with all her might. And the book designer couldn’t have chosen a better way to introduce readers to this topic.

This photo depicts:

Strength.
Resolve.
Commitment.
Perseverance.
Sacrifice.

Author Carolyn Custis James wrote The Gospel of Ruth: Loving God Enough to Break the Rules, in 2008. I was one of the happy reviewers that devoured this text (and have reread it about a dozen times since.)

If I had a short list of favorite books…this one would be on it.

I’ve long wanted to write about the message of this book because I think it’s so important for women (and men) to grasp.

But, like anything (or anyone) I hold in high esteem…there’s a little niggling fear that I won’t do the work (message) justice.

Finally, I decided I can’t do it justice…but at the least, I can tell other people about the book so they can read it for themselves.

As a reviewer, I’m always reading something. Always.

But in the twenty-some years working as a reviewer, I’d say there are about twenty books I keep handy (and keep referring to)…this is one of them.

Whenever I travel, I always have a bag full of books at my side…and this book makes the cut every time.

So enough of that….why should you read this book?

Because James does something I’ve rarely seen other authors do…find a way to communicate the value of relationship (partnership) between strong women and strong men.

Almost always we see either/or….either a strong woman leads and every man in her vicinity quakes in fear.

Or…we see a strong man and every woman in his vicinity quakes in fear.

Not here.

James reveals how both women and men can be strong, work together, and accomplish much.

Not exactly the typical screenplay of today where it’s almost always one sex dominating the other.

I love it!

Women and men sharing equally in whatever task they’re called to…and in a world as dangerous as ours…we need our girls to grow up to be strong women for their sake and society’s.

I know I can’t do this message justice…so I’m stopping here…ending with one of my favorite quotes from James’ book where she describes the two main characters’ relationship with each other.

In the end, there is deep respect, mutual submission, and a powerful partnership that rocks their community (for good.)

Like the title of this post starts off….everyone wins…who reads this book…

2 thoughts on “Everyone wins when courage fills a woman’s soul

Leave a Reply

