Articles

The Ultimate Antiaging Drug: Curiosity

Curiosity is what preserves you. It’s the antiaging drug par excellence. Henri Salvador

I came across this quote in a book on the art of growing old and it's stuck with me.

At first, I wasn't sure if I agreed…then the more I thought about Salvador's statement I thought, he's right.

Think about all the old(er) folks you know and what it is about them that draws you to some and makes you want to run from others?

I think it’s a generous spirit.
An adventurous spirit.
A spirit of curiosity that’s always willing to try something new
.

This revelation hit me this week when I started clicking through photos my son took of his travels through Turkey (a place I’ve never had a desire to visit.)

That is, until I saw his photos and the place came alive for me.

Now, I’m rethinking my former stance on traveling to this colorful country.

And while I may or may not ever get there in person…I’m enjoying brief trips there every day via photos and conversations with someone who’s been there.

Honestly, I get energized thinking about these faraway places, people, sights, tastes, and smells.

I’m curious about what it would be like to step into their shoes for a while and see life from their perspective.

With all this latent energy bursting through my system I ought to find a way to bottle it — Curiosity: the ultimate antiaging drug.

Try it, you might like it too.

Leave a Reply

