Articles

Living Vicariously Through Our Children…Is It Ever Okay?

I’ve always wondered about parents who live vicariously through their children and honestly, it creeps me out.

I wonder why parents would ever want to re-live their earlier years…because each decade has its own challenges.

There are days I don’t necessarily like what’s happening in my life…but I never, ever…want a repeat or a redo of a bygone era.

Then today brought some wonderful news…

My son got officially accepted into the Taubman College of Architecture at the University of Michigan.

After two grueling years of hard labor…his work paid off. And the photo seen in this post…well, let’s just say we’re going to be seeing lots more work like it in the next few years.

I am thrilled for two reasons.

I love making a daily trek upstairs to get some food item out of our extra pantry and each time as I pass by my son’s work (and I feel closer to him)…it makes me smile.

And..

I love that my son set a specific goal for himself and sacrificed to achieve it. That too, makes me smile.

Am I living vicariously through my son’s achievement?

Well, if having an overwhelming rush of the “perfect moment” celebratory feeling translates as I’m taking his success too much to heart…then, I’m guilty.

But today, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Sometimes, I think it is just exactly the right thing to do…living vicariously through our children’s achievements…and celebrating right along with them.

Leave a Reply

