Articles

Dining with Dignity — When Table Manners Reveal Who We Are

If you’ve never experienced a Larabar…you’re missing something wonderful in your life.

Trust me.

As a recovering sugar addict, I am always on the lookout for something sweet that is also healthy. Not an easy task.

So was I ever excited when my daughter told me about Larabars. Check out these delicious flavors (and feel great about indulging in them!)

I do. 🙂

In fact, when I bite into a Larabar I honestly feel like I’m eating with dignity. You know, eating to fuel my body (and relishing every single flavorful crunch along the way.)

I think that’s the way we’re supposed to eat.

Eat to fuel our bodies.
Relish the food we eat
.

And…

Eat in the company of others (and with a mind toward sharing with others.)
With dignity
.

Author Chris Seay has just released a new title, A Place at the Table: 40 Days of Solidarity with the Poor, and boy, did it ever give me food for thought.

Seay invites readers to take 40 days to approach eating in a different way. He ask individuals to carefully set aside their former eating habits and begin afresh (and be willing to sacrifice some) in the process.

His book is a journey of sorts on rethinking how we fill ourselves with food (too much food) while much of the world goes hungry.

Seay notices something about today’s man and woman…they dine without thought, care, or even enjoyment. Here’s an excerpt…

I have observed that frenetic people dine in a way that is hurried, distracted, and apathetic about the things that matter most. I have also observed that people who eat intentionally, taking time to savor flavors and engage the people around them, realize they are nourishing both their bodies and souls. This posture overflows into other areas of their lives, and they seem to live from a spring of wisdom and peace.

Which came first, you wonder: the frenetic life or the unfortunate table manners? Thankfulness for the meal or a generous spirit? Hard to say, but it seems our conduct around the table is more than just an indicator that something in our life has gone awry; it is an all-out warning that we need to make some changes, to check our priorities.

I know there are times when I eat on the run…times when I don’t have any choice.

I also know that some of my most memorable moments have happened around a table sharing wonderful food with someone I love (at a pace that allows everyone to relax.)

Dining in a way where we are sharing more than food; we’re sharing hopes, and fears, and dreams….fueling us inside and out to make a difference.

That’s what I call dining with dignity.

One thought on “Dining with Dignity — When Table Manners Reveal Who We Are

Leave a Reply

