Articles

Question: Why I love medicine? Answer: What’s not to love?

WebMD
WebMD
When the journalist issued a call-out for people across the country to answer this question…

Why I love medicine?

I was itching to send off an immediate answer.

There was only one problem…I didn’t qualify.

Since I’m not a “medical professional” my answer wouldn’t have counted in this journalist’s survey.

Sadness.

Because honestly, given my recent history of being in the operating room as a patient (and as an observor) I feel my experience ought to count for something, right?

Maybe yes.
Maybe no
.

All I know is this…IF I was qualified to respond to this writer’s request for information, I would say this…

I love medicine because:

It is one of the most remarkably fascinating areas of study on the planet.
It is continually changing, growing, and expanding…never a dull moment.
It is people-friendly (and exists to impart a higher quality of life to all.)
It is dynamic and high-energy (attracting those with a committment to excellence.)

These are the first response “It is…” but on a more personal level…

I love medicine because:

It has changed my life for the better.

One thought on “Question: Why I love medicine? Answer: What’s not to love?

  1. I have always disliked medicine and wanted to stay as far away as possible from the whole process. I may have to rethink it based upon your answers!

Leave a Reply

