Articles

Detecting What is Underneath the Surface — Understanding Our Strengths (and our weaknesses)

When I look at this photo…I like what I see.

What isn’t apparent to most people, I’ve become good at recognizing.

What we see on the surface isn’t necessarily true underneath (sometimes it’s much better.)

Let me explain.

This photo reveals my mom’s brand new shoulder replacement…so when I see “inside” her better-than-before shoulder, I get excited. I am confident that since her janky, injured, weak shoulder was removed surgically and replaced with this perfectly fitting new shoulder…her quality of life will improve greatly.

No more moving gingerly when reaching high into cupboards.
No more taking great care when dressing, undressing, bending over, or turning around
.

Before she knows it, she’ll feel better than before…better than new.

Just makes me feel good knowing that underneath the surface of what I see there are strong, long-lasting components which will see my mom through good days and bad.

When I studied this photo for the first time, I was simply amazed that our bodies can accept “replacement parts,” adapt to them, and even mesh with them.

No one would ever know (except her doctor) what’s hidden beneath the surface and yet plays such an intricate role in allowing my mom to live normally again (and with renewed strength.)

Then, I realized how undergoing any kind of surgery is parallel to everyday life.

We rarely take the time or the interest to probe beneath the surface of what makes us stronger, more resilient, fitter individuals.

Instead, we are seemingly content to move through our days happily (or unhappily) ignorant of what makes us strong (or weak) until something inside us snaps, breaks, or is crushed.

And by then, it’s sometimes too late to make a full recovery. So, despite the initial pain it causes to probe around an injury (physical or emotional,) I’m convinced it’s necessary to my overall well-being and health (and for everyone I come into contact with…)

A last word on probing…

It must be conducted slowly.
It must be conducted gently.
It must be conducted with healing (not further injury) in mind.

Leave a Reply

