Articles

Leaving a Legacy That Outlives Us

When I first glanced at this photo, I missed one of its most important statements.

Can you guess what it was?

I noted the heart-shaped hands…
I noted the pregnant mom’s belly…
I noted the celebratory message of the photo…

But I missed the glaringly obvious.

I missed the fact that there are two people’s hands creating the heart-shape in this photo. Looking at it more closely, I still cannot believe I didn’t see it right away.

Did you? (Miss the bigger picture while focusing on the obvious?)

No doubt, pregnancies, babies, and child-rearing are all meaningful and exciting seasons of life. With one eye, we’re busy raising our children to adulthood. With the other, we’re always looking ahead (trying to prepare and provide for the future — theirs and ours.)

No matter how young or old we are, life insists we do both — live today and prepare for tomorrow, and at times, we can get a bit overwhelmed and lose our bearings (our focus.)

There are days when I forget about my long-term destination (and leaving my legacy) in favor of simply getting through today.

So when I read this little theory by Jack Balousek, president/CEO of True North Communications, it helped.

Balousek believes there are three phases to life which he describes as, “Learn, earn, return – The first third should be devoted to education, the second third to building a career and making a living, and the last third to giving back to others – returning something in gratitude. Each state seems to be a preparation for the next one.”

Good way to look at it.

Then, I read on as John Maxwell added his insights.

If you are successful, it becomes possible for you to leave an inheritance for others. But if you desire to do more, to create a legacy, then you need to leave that in others. When you think unselfishly and invest in others, you gain the opportunity to create a legacy that will outlive you.”

Better way to look at it (and you gotta love it, by a longshot.) πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Leaving a Legacy That Outlives Us

    1. Pegg,
      I think I missed it because the eye always sees what it wants to see (or what we think should be there)…which is the beginnings of an entirely different post on a different topic, right? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

