Articles

“i” Know Nothing – Catching Up With Technology

Thinner. Lighter. Faster.

FaceTime. Smart Covers. 10-hour battery.

These are the promises the maker of the newest iPad2 advertise.

Since I am the happy owner of an iPad2, I can tell you these promises are 100% true.

It is thinner. It is lighter. It is faster.

There’s facetime. There’s a smartcover. There’s a 10-hour battery.

Perfect.

Except that purchasing an iPad2 doesn’t automatically mean the new owner (me) understands how to utilize all these smart components.

I might have one of the coolest products that contains some of the most powerful applications but until I began making use of them, they’re of no good to me.

As my son recently told me, “You have no idea what this can do!”

Then he began giving me a 15 minute tutorial to help catch me up to speed.

It was great. It was helpful. I couldn’t wait to get home and try it for myself.

Then, I did what many people do when they don’t immediately put new information to use, I forgot it.

All this trying to catch up (and keep up) with the latest technology reminds me of a good life lesson.

Information (and insight) is only effective when it becomes “applied information.” Otherwise there’s a chasm of disconnect that cancels out the positive potential of the information/insight and no change (or upgrade) takes place.

So here’s to taking the time to apply what I’m learning by making use of all the tools available to me.

i” can learn to live and learn smarter.

Leave a Reply

