Articles

Bookmarks – Do More Than Mark Your Place in a Book

I’ve always loved bookmarks. Whenever I go into a bookstore, I eventually make my way over to the stands displaying every sort of bookmarks. I suppose I love these place markers so much because each one tells a story…just as each book I pick up does the same.

The interesting thing about book markers is that they do more than merely mark your place in a book. If you look closely, you’ll see that each bookmark “marks” your place in life.

I’ve been given any number of these nifty (and novel) place markers from my kids, my friends, and from work colleagues over the years. And when I pick up a new book to read, I sort through my stock of bookmarks choosing just the right one to fit (my mood) and the book I’m reading.

Every time I pick up a marker (or slip it into the pages of a text), I’m remembering…the person who gave it to me, why they thought I’d love it, and how glad I am that they did.

Some gifts just keep on giving…bookmarks are one…books are another…

With the average American only reading one book per year…bookmarks might soon be extinct. Let’s hope not.

The next time you settle down for a favorite read take a few minutes to choose an appropriate marker to go along with it.

Reading and creating memories go hand in hand. But don’t take my word for it…mark out a spot in your day to discover it for yourself.

Leave a Reply

