Articles

No Matter What Team You’re On – The Only Thing That’s Contagious Is Your Attitude

When I hear the word contagious I get worried. Real worried. Whatever “it” is, I don’t want to get it. I don’t want my kids to get it. Nor my friends and anyone else I care about.

But there’s another kind of contagious we should all want to “catch” and pass on to everyone around us…whether it’s at work, at school, on the playing field, or in the home.

It’s a positive attitude.

I’m reading my tenth John Maxwell book (right in a row) and honestly, this guy’s attitude is changing mine! Instead of seeing “what’s wrong” or “what needs fixing“…because as a reviewer I’m trained to look for the flaws and make note of them…I’m first focusing on “what’s right” and “what’s working” and that simple exercise has helped me “work through” some difficult challenges that have had me frustrated and “stuck.”

I could go on and on about how “positively” life-changing Maxwell’s work has been…but better yet…let me just share a brief paragraph on how the contagion of “attitude” spreads.

Several things on a team are not contagious. Talent. Experience. Willingness to practice. But you can be sure of one thing: Attitude is catching. When someone on the team is teachable and his humility is rewarded by improvement, others are more likely to display similar characteristics. When a leader is upbeat in the face of discouraging circumstances, others admire that quality and want to be like her. When a team member displays a strong work ethic and begins to have a positive impact, others imitate him… People have a tendency to adopt the attitudes of those they spend time with – to pick up on their mind-set, beliefs, and approaches to challenges.” Excerpted from The 17 Indisputable Laws of Teamwork by John Maxwell.

Leave a Reply

