Articles

Orthopedic Surgeons are People Mechanics and Here’s Why

A few weeks ago I started reading in earnest about total hip replacement surgery and thought I understood how amazing it was that surgeons can remove what’s broken and replace our worn-out “parts” with new ones. I was wrong. Yesterday, actually being in an operating room and seeing up-close this same procedure I had previously only read about was completely different. And better. Much better.

Like so much in life, reading about an experience is a good thing, but having the opportunity to experience it up-close and first-hand makes a world of difference. For two fast-faced and physically demanding hours, I watched my co-author, Dr. Foetisch, manipulate, maneuver, and remake a seventy-four-year-old woman’s hip. Taking furious notes throughout the procedure, I observed Dr. Foetisch and his team work in perfect rhythm as he removed the damaged bone and then replace it with brand-new components. Here’s a few photos (courtesy of WebMD to show in brief what happens).

In the next couple of weeks, I’ll be describing the entire procedure in fuller detail. But for now, that common phrase, “I feel better than new!” are the words I’m confident this patient is going to be saying in a few weeks’ time. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Orthopedic Surgeons are People Mechanics and Here’s Why

  1. My daughter was introduced to a web link at school that allowed her to perform all sorts of surgery demos. She’s enjoyed it a lot.

    She’s 11. 🙂 I don’t seem to have the link here, or I’d give it to you.

Leave a Reply

